Today is:

Jordan > Government Listing >
Government of H.E. Marouf Bakhit Cabinet List of 27 November 2005:

The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan is a constitutional monarchy with representative government. The reigning monarch, His Majesty King Abdullah II, is the Head of State, the Chief Executive and the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed forces. The king exercises his executive authority through the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers, or Cabinet. The cabinet is responsible before the elected House of Deputies which, along with the House of Notables (Senate), constitutes the legislative branch of the government. The judicial branch is an independent branch of the government.


On November 27, 2005, Prime Minister Marouf Bakhit announced the formation of a 23-member Cabinet, including nine ministers who served in the former Cabinet of Adnan Badran, four public figures who previously held ministerial posts and 10 newcomers representing public and private sector as well as the civil service.

Key appointments indicate that the government's list of priorities entail overhauling the public sector and pushing forth with the country's National Agenda, that is to set the course for the Kingdom for the next 10 years. It is also seen as one that will protect the country from terror attacks, in the wake of the November 9 triple bombings that rocked Amman and killed 60 people.

Government of H.E. Marouf Bakhit Cabinet List of 27 November 2005:

1. H.E. Dr. Marouf Bakhit Prime Minister and Minister of Defence

2. H.E. Dr. Ziad Fariz Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance

3. H.E. Mr. Abdul Ilah Khatib Minister of Foreign Affairs

4. H.E. Mr. Nader Thuheirat Minister of Municipal Affairs

5. H.E. Mr. Eid Fayez Minister of Interior

6. H.E. Mr. Hosni Abu Gheida Minister of Public Works and Housing

7. H.E. Dr. Khalid Touqan Minister of Education and Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research

8. H.E. Dr. Abed Shakhanbeh Minister of Justice

9. H.E. Mr. Azmi Khreisat Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources

10. H.E. Mr. Saeed Darwazeh Minister of Health

11. H.E. Mr. Saud Nseirat Minister of Transport

12. H.E. Mr. Sharif Zu'bi Minister of Industry and Trade

13. H.E. Mrs. Suhair Al-Ali Minister of Planning and International Cooperation

14. H.E. Mr. Khalid Irani Minister of Environment

15. H.E. Mr. Bassem Salem Minister of Labour

16. H.E. Mr. Salem Khazaaleh Minister of Public Sector Reform

17. H.E. Mr. Abdul Fattah Salah Minister of Awqaf and Islamic Affairs

18. H.E. Mr. Mohamad Thafer Alalem Minister of Water and Irrigation

19. H.E. Dr. Akef Zu'bi Minister of Agriculture

20. H.E. Dr. Adel Tweisi Minister of Culture

21. H.E. Dr. Sabri Rbeihat Minister of Political Development and Parliamentary Affairs

22. H.E. Dr. Suleiman Tarawneh Minister of Social Development

23. H.E. Mr. Munir Nassar Minister of Tourism and Antiquities

24. H.E. Mr. Omar Kurdi Minister of Information and Communications Technology